Agency offers O’Hare flight tracking

The O’Hare Noise Compatibility Commission has announced that it has opened an online "real time" flight-tracking system for O’Hare International Airport.

"Residents now will be able to identify and obtain information on specific aircraft via the Internet flight tracker provided by the Chicago Department of Aviation," Mount Prospect Mayor and commission chairwoman Arlene Juracek said. "They can identify individual locations of interest, such as one’s home or school, on a map that features O’Hare flights. Aircraft data also include flight number and current altitude." The flights can be tracked at

The commission also announced that the Federal Aviation Administration will hold four meetings for the public to review and comment on the draft re-evaluation of the interim environmental impact of the O’Hare Modernization Program and the introduction of a redesigned Web site.

The as yet unscheduled open houses will focus on the results of the draft re-evaluation being conducted by the FAA. They will be held after release of the draft reports to allow time for review before the new southern Runway 10R/28L is commissioned in October, according to the FAA.

The Web site has features such as a "search" function, a calendar, a newsroom, and meeting agendas and minutes.

Juracek also announced that Catherine Dunlap is the new chairman of the commission’s Technical Committee. Dunlap represents the 41st Ward, and she has served on the Technical Committee since September 2011.

The commission is an inter-governmental advisory agency that coordinates the noise mitigation for schools and homes for approximately 1.3 million residents living near the airport.

Member communities are Chicago, including the 36th, 38th, 39th, 40th, 41st and 45th wards, Arlington Heights, Bartlett, Bellwood, Bensenville, Bloomingdale, Des Plaines, Downers Grove, Elmwood Park, Franklin Park, Hanover Park, Harwood Heights, Hoffman Estates, Itasca, Maywood, Melrose Park, Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Niles, Norridge, Northlake, Oak Park, Palatine, Park Ridge, River Forest, River Grove, Rolling Meadows, Rosemont, Schaumburg, Schiller Park, Stone Park, Wood Dale and Cook County.

Commission member school districts are 59, 63, 64, 80, 81, 84, 84.5, 85.5, 86, 87, 88, 89, 214, 234, 299 and 401.